Cricket Australia releases player contracts for the year 2024-25

Cricket Australia has made some intriguing choices in their latest round of central contracts for the upcoming 2024-25 season, introducing four fresh faces while leaving out seasoned all-rounder Marcus Stoinis from their 23-player lineup. Xavier Bartlett, with only three caps for Australia under his belt, finds himself among the chosen players, alongside Nathan Ellis, Matt Short, and Aaron Hardie.

Bartlett’s inclusion marks a significant milestone for the emerging talent, whereas the other three players have effectively secured their positions through consistent performances, earning upgrades throughout the season with appearances in ODIs and T20Is for Australia.

One notable absence from the list is David Warner, whose decision to retire from international cricket following the T20 World Cup renders him ineligible for the contract, set to take effect afterward. Stoinis, despite being in contention for the upcoming T20 World Cup, remains without a contract. Also missing out are Ashton Agar, Marcus Harris, and Michael Neser, who were part of last year’s contracted players.

Matt Renshaw, recently enlisted as the backup batter after Warner retired from Test cricket, faces exclusion from the contracted players, along with T20 specialist Tim David. However, Jhye Richardson retains his contract despite his absence from the international scene since June 2022 due to persistent injuries.

The contracted players for the 2024-25 season boast a mix of seasoned veterans and promising newcomers. Stars like Pat Cummins, Steve Smith, and Glenn Maxwell lead the pack while emerging talents such as Cameron Green and Todd Murphy also feature. The list is well-rounded with reliable performers like Nathan Lyon and Mitchell Starc, promising an exciting season for Australian cricket.

CA contracted players 2024-25:

Sean Abbott, Xavier Bartlett, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Aaron Hardie, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Lance Morris, Todd Murphy, Jhye Richardson, Matt Short, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa