RR vs DC Preview: Delhi eye their first win against formidable Rajasthan

The action will continue in the Indian Premier League 2024 as Rajasthan Royals and Delhi Capitals will take on each other in Match 9 on Thursday, March 28 at Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur. Rajasthan started their campaign with a 20-run win over Lucknow Super Giants in their first fixture. Following their victory, they find themselves in the second spot on the points table with two points to their name.

The positive for Rajasthan from the opening game was Riyan Parag’s return to form. The 22-year-old played a handy knock of 43 off 29 deliveries with the help of one four and three sixes. On the other hand, Samson continued his habit of scoring big in his first game with 82* (52).

On the other hand, Delhi Capitals (DC) didn’t have a memorable outing in their opening game. They lost to Punjab Kings (PBKS) by four wickets in their first game. The biggest positive for Delhi in the opening game was the return of Rishabh Pant back to his full fitness. He also looked at ease both while batting and keeping the wickets. Abhishek Porel (32* off 10) and Kuldeep Yadav (2/20) were the stars with the bat and ball respectively and the duo will be eager to continue their form and help their side register the first win of the season.

Head to Head

Pitch Report

In the opening game of the season, Rajasthan posted a massive score of 193 batting first. While Lucknow scored 173/6 in reply. The surface has always been a belter of a track for batters historically and is expected to behave the same. Teams bowling second won’t be at a disadvantage either with dew also not expected to make its presence felt.

Probable Playing XI

Rajasthan Royals: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Jos Buttler, Sanju Samson, Riyan Parag, Shimron Hetmyer, Dhruv Jurel, Rovman Powell/Nandre Burger, R Ashwin, Avesh Khan, Trent Boult, Sandeep Sharma, Yuzvendra Chahal

Delhi Capitals: David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Abhishek Porel, Ricky Bhui, Rishabh Pant, Tristan Stubbs, Axar Patel, Sumit Kumar/Kumar Kushagra, Anrich Nortje, Kuldeep Yadav, Khaleel Ahmed, Ishant Sharma