GT vs PBKS Review: Shashank powers Punjab to their second win

Gujarat Titans took on Punjab Kings in Match 17 of the Indian Premier League 2024 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on Thursday. PBKS won the toss and opted to bowl first. GT was off to a flying start with Shubman Gill (89 off 48) and Wriddhiman Saha (11 off 13) dealing with boundaries. Kane Williamson’s (26 off 22) comeback was lukewarm and Sai Sudharsan (33 off 19) defied the conservative approach. Vijay Shankar (8 off 10) could not extend his start as Rahul Tewatia (23 off 8) propelled GT to 199 for 4.

PBKS dealt an early blow as Shikhar Dhawan (1 off 2) departed early before Jonny Bairstow (22 off 13) and Prabhsimran Singh (35 off 24) kept the run rate going. Sam Curran (5 off 8) failed to deliver and Sikandar Raza (15 off 16) played an almost run-a-ball but Shashank Singh (61* off 29) brought back PBKS into the game with a sublime knock. Jitesh Sharma (16 off 8) and Ashutosh Sharma (31 off 17) flexed some muscles. With seven needed off the final over, PBKS were done for the day with a ball remaining and won by three wickets.

Top performers of the match

Shashank Singh (89 off 48)

Shashank Singh sailed the PBKS boat out of troubled waters. He stood as a tall figure against GT and two points. With the top order already in the hut, the batter shifted the momentum by fetching 17 off Umesh Yadav’s over. He smashed six boundaries and four sixes. Remaining unbeaten till the end, he foresaw PBKS victory on the second last ball of the innings.

Noor Ahmed (2 for 32)

Where every bowler was taken to the cleaners, Noor Ahmed maintained his calm and unleashed the presentation of tight lines against big hitters. He clean bowled the dangerous-looking Bairstow and cleared the Prabhsimran scare for the GT. He bowled at an economy rate of eight and was the pick of the bowlers amongst every other.

What’s next for both teams?

Gujarat Titans will take on Lucknow Super Giants in Match 21 at the Ekana Stadium in Lucknow on April 7. Punjab Kings will take on Sunrisers Hyderabad in Match 23 at the Maharaja Yadavindra Singh International Cricket Stadium in Mohali on April 9.