KKR vs RCB Preview: Bengaluru determined to turn tables at Eden Gardens.

The action will continue in the Indian Premier League 2024 (IPL 2024). Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) will take on each other in Match 36 on Sunday, April 21 at Eden Gardens, Kolkata. KKR are coming into the game having lost their previous fixture against Rajasthan Royals (RR) by two wickets.

However, Kolkata have got their tournament off to a terrific start by winning three games on the trot. They have lost just two matches so far. As a result, they are in the second spot on the points table with four wins from six matches having eight points to their name. On the other hand, RCB is coming into the game on the back of five consecutive losses. The Faf du Plessis-led side have their back against the wall. They desperately need to win every encounter to keep their playoffs hopes alive.

RCB are reeling at the last spot on the points table with one win from seven matches having two points to their name. They will be desperate for a win in the upcoming fixture against their rivals who have beaten them on 19 occasions out of the 33 matches played between the two teams. KKR also beat RCB in both of their previous fixtures in the 2023 edition and hence will start the game as favourites.

Pitch Report

Out of the three matches played at the venue in the tournament so far, two have been won by teams chasing. The average first-innings score has been 197 while the highest target chased has been 224 by Rajasthan Royals. The wicket at the Eden Gardens is a paradise for batters and the captain winning the toss will look to bat first and post a huge score on the board to bring the opposition under pressure.

Probable Playing XI

Kolkata Knight Riders: Philip Salt (wk), Sunil Narine, Angkrish Raghuvanshi, Shreyas Iyer (c), Venkatesh Iyer, Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Ramandeep Singh, Mitchell Starc, Varun Chakaravarthy, Harshit Rana

Royal Challengers Bengaluru: Virat Kohli, Faf du Plessis (c), Will Jacks, Rajat Patidar, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Mahipal Lomror, Vijaykumar Vyshak, Reece Topley, Lockie Ferguson, Yash Dayal, Mohammed Siraj