On this day: Deepti Sharma and Punam Raut stitch a world-record partnership

Two Indian Women cricketers, Deepti Sharma and Punam Raut inflicted a hammering on the Ireland bowling attack on 15th May 2017 and etched their names in the record books. The duo of Sharma and Raut put on a world-record stand of 320 runs for the opening wicket off 45.3 overs. No other batting pair in the history of Women’s cricket has ever put on a partnership over 300.

So, let us delve into some detail about the match where the massacre from the willows of Deepti Sharma and Punam Raut took place. India Women won the toss and decided to bat first. And, the Indian innings were only about the openers who enjoyed themselves thoroughly against a bowling attack that appeared clueless.

While Punam Raut helped herself to a masterly 109 off 116 deliveries, Deepti Sharma was the aggressor. Sharma smashed a whirlwind 188 off 160 deliveries as the two women made merry against the Laura Delany-led Ireland side.

Also, Shikha Pandey helped herself to a cameo of 27 at a strike rate of 192.85 as well, and India finished with a mammoth total of 358/2 on the board. Rachel Delaney was the only wicket-taker for the Irish side (Shikha Pandey was run out). Delaney bowled 7 overs, gave away 44 runs, and scalped the wicket of Deepti Sharma.

In reply, Ireland was no match for India. The Irish batting line-up put up an extremely mediocre show, and the Laura Delany-led side was bowled out for a paltry total of just 109. Also, 7 out of the 11 willow wielders from the Irish side failed to even score in double figures. The top scorer for Ireland was Mary Waldron, who scored a 71-ball 35.

Rajeshwari Gayakwad made life miserable for the Ireland batswomen, and scalped 4 wickets, giving away just 18 runs in the 8 overs that she bowled. And for her fireworks with the willow, Deepti Sharma was awarded the Player of the Match award. And surely, 15th May 2017 will be a date that will be remembered for the ravishing display of batsmanship from the willow of a woman called Deepti Sharma.