On this day in 2010: England clinch first-ever ICC trophy

If you are a follower of the England cricket team, then 16th May 2010 is a date that you will not forget. It was on this date that the England team, led by Paul Collingwood won the 2010 T20 World Cup, beating their arch-rivals Australia in the final. And easily, this will rank as one of England’s greatest sporting moments ever.

On the day of the final, England won the toss and decided to field first. The Australian side got off to a disastrous start, as they lost their first 3 wickets with just 8 runs on the board. But then, David Hussey steadied the ship for the kangaroos.

The right-handed batsman played the role of sheet anchor for Australia and scored a sedate 59 off 54 deliveries. Apart from Hussey, the likes of Michael Clarke and Cameron White also contributed. While Clarke scored a run-a-ball 27, White scored a quick 30 off 19 deliveries, as Australia ended their innings with the scorecard reading 147/6 after 20 overs.

For England, Ryan Sidebottom was the pick of the bowlers. The left-arm seamer bowled 4 overs, gave away 26 runs and also scalped a couple of wickets as well.

Kieswetter steals the show

In reply, England lost their opener Michael Lumb early. But then, Craig Kieswetter and the flamboyant Kevin Pietersen put on a match-winning partnership of 111 runs for the 2nd wicket. While Kieswetter scored 63 off 49 deliveries, Pietersen helped himself to a 31-ball 47. Paul Collingwood and Eoin Morgan then scored attractive cameos as England comfortably went past the target with 7 wickets and 18 balls to spare to emerge as the undisputed champions.

For Australia, Shaun Tait, Mitchell Johnson and Steven Smith picked up a wicket apiece. And, for his resplendent knock at the top of the order that allowed England to comfortably post a victory, Kieswetter was adjudged the Player of the Match.