SRH vs MI Preview: First win up for grab as Hyderabad & Mumbai lock horns

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) lock horns with Mumbai Indians (MI) at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad on Wednesday, March 27 in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024.

In their first game of IPL 2024, SRH fought valiantly against Kolkata Knight Riders at Eden Gardens, Kolkata but eventually lost by four runs in their pursuit of 209. Heinrich Klaasen hit eight sixes during his swashbuckling innings of 63 off 29 balls. However, he was dismissed in the last over and it ended Hyderabad’s hopes of pulling off a monumental victory. Apart from Klaasen, Mayank Agarwal and Abhishek Sharma looked in good touch for the Sunrisers.

Mumbai Indians started their campaign with a clash against Gujarat Titans in Ahmedabad. Hardik Pandya, who replaced Rohit Sharma as the captain ahead of the season, won the toss and opted to bowl first. Jasprit Bumrah bowled exceptionally well and picked up three wickets as the five-time champions restricted Gujarat to 168/6 in their 20 overs.

In reply, almost every MI batter got a start but could not convert it into substantial scores. Dewald Brevis top-scored with a 38-ball 46. Umesh Yadav picked up the wickets of Hardik and Piyush Chawla in the last over to earn his side a morale-boosting win.

Head to Head

Hyderabad and Mumbai have faced each other on 21 occasions and Mumbai have a 12-9 lead in the head-to-head. Last year, SRH lost both their matches against MI.

Pitch Report

The Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium generally produces good tracks for batters but owlers get into the game once the ball gets older. Runs in the powerplay are going to be crucial for both teams. The average first-innings score in the IPL at this venue is 159. Teams generally like to chase at this venue.

Probable Playing XI

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Mayank Agarwal, Abhishek Sharma, Rahul Tripathi, Aiden Markram, Heinrich Klaasen (WK), Abdul Samad, Shahbaz Ahmed, Marco Jansen, Pat Cummins (C), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mayank Markande Impact Sub – T Natarajan

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma, Ishan Kishan (WK), Naman Dhir, Dewald Brevis, Tilak Varma, Hardik Pandya (C), Tim David, Gerald Coetzee, Shams Mulani, Piyush Chawla, Jasprit Bumrah Impact Sub – Luke Wood