U19 WC 2022: IND vs ENG Preview – A grand finish awaits

The U19 World Cup 2022 is finally in its endgame now. India and England are all set to take on each other in the grand finale of the tournament. Taking the high stakes into account, this game on Saturday promises to be an absolute cracker of a contest.

The fact that the final shall see two of the most deserving teams battling it out for the ultimate prize makes it a fitting climax. England defeated Afghanistan by 15 runs to cement their spot in the final. On the other hand, India beat Australia to make it to the final for the fourth time in a row.

India have been dominant in this edition of the U19 WC, to say the least, and have won most of their games rather comfortably. Moreover, their key players have seemingly peaked at the right time. With the likes of Angkrish Raghuvanshi, Shaik Rasheed and skipper Yash Dhull in the top-order, the English bowlers will have to be at their best if they are to get them out cheaply.

However, the Brits could very well repeat their bowling performance from the semi-final. Joshua Boyden and Rehan Ahmed have been superb in the tournament so far. When it comes to the batting, their captain Tom Prest has consistently scored runs for them, and has led from the front.

Pitch Report:

In this tournament, Antigua has produced some close contests. As chasing gets difficult in these conditions, both teams would want to win the toss and bat first. Besides, teams ideally always would want to bat first during a tournament final.

Match Details:

England Under 19 vs India Under 19, Final

Venue: Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, North Sound, Antigua

Date & Time: February 5th, at 6:30 PM IST and 9:00 AM Local Time

Live Streaming: Star Sports Network and Disney+Hotstar

Predicted Playing XIs:

India U19: Angkrish Raghuvanshi, Harnoor Singh, Shaik Rasheed, Yash Dhull (c), Nishant Sindhu, Dinesh Bana (wk), Rajangad Bawa, Kaushal Tambe, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Vicky Ostwal, Ravi Kumar

England U19: George Thomas, Jacob Bethell, Tom Prest (c), James Rew, William Luxton, George Bell, Rehan Ahmed, Alex Horton (wk), Thomas Aspinwall, James Sales, Joshua Boyden