IND vs AUS: Steve Smith to captain Australia for ODI series

The 2023 Border-Gavaskar Trophy saw India win the series 2-1 after the hosts won the first two Tests. Australia won the third Test in Indore to keep India from winning the series, but their victory was in vain as the Ahmedabad Test resulted in a draw.

Following the conclusion of the BGT, India and Australia will now take each other on for a three-match ODI series. The series is scheduled to begin on Friday, March 17. It has been stated that Steve Smith will remain skipper for the duration of the ODI series. Pat Cummins will remain at home after death of his ailing mother.

Smith captained Australia in the final two Tests of the 2023 Border-Gavaskar Trophy. Pat Cummins had to return home to be with his ailing mother. Following the death of the skipper’s mother, Steve Smith will also be captaining Australia for the upcoming ODI series.

There are several returning names to Australia’s squad as the team looks to be all-rounder-heavy. The Men in Yellow will look to field their strongest possible line-up ahead of the ODI World Cup. Ashton Agar also returns to the team, whereas David Warner also makes his return from injury.

Got a couple conversations around the balance: Head coach Andrew McDonald

Talking in the same light, head coach Andrew McDonald of the Australian team came forward to give his take on the team composition that the visitors have seemed to prepare ahead of the ODI series.

“We’ve got a couple conversations around the balance of the team we want to play; The team has gone in with a structure with eight batters to bat a little bit deeper; we’ve tried that. So there’ll be a mix of combinations as we lead into the World Cup. A lot of all-rounders have been picked in the squad, and they can all play for one team. So we’ve got to answer a few of those questions,” McDonald was quoted as saying by Cricket Australia.

Australia ODI squad vs India: David Warner, Travis Head, Steven Smith (c), Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey, Glenn Maxwell, Cameron Green, Josh Inglis, Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Ellis, Adam Zampa