Sri Lanka cricket announces Lanka T10 League

Regarded as the fastest format and assumed by many to be the future of cricket, the T10 league has officially arrived on the Lankan shores. Sri Lanka Cricket on Sunday, November 20 officially announced the ‘Lanka T10 League’.

Since the advent of the Abu Dhabi T10, many cricketing boards have been pondering to kick-start their version of the league. Sri Lanka has now become the first full member nation among all the cricketing nations to announce a T10 league, and in addition to it, the tournament will comprise of competitions for both men’s and women’s teams.

The league will see six men’s teams and four women’s teams taking part in the event with each team named after a Sri Lankan city similar and along the lines of the Lanka Premier League. Sri Lanka Cricket’s President Shammi Silva and Honorary Secretary Mohan de Silva made the official announcement of the league along with the Chairman of TTen Global Sports Shaji Ul Mulk and the COO TTen Global Sports Rajeev Khanna, said a statement by T10 Global Sports Media.

“The introduction of the fastest cricketing competition in Sri Lanka is definitely a great addition to our cricketing calendar, and we are happy to be a part of the forward journey of the game, which continues to evolve to be on par with the changing dynamics in the global sporting arena, and I wish to commend TTen Global Sports for its role in this latest initiative,” said the Honorary President of Sri Lanka Cricket.

“We are extremely happy to announce the launch of the Lanka T10 League, which is the shortest format of the game, and I am confident that this competition will provide entertainment and excitement to the fans, quality competition for the players, and valuable exposure for the stakeholders,” said Mohan de Silva, Honorary Secretary of Sri Lanka Cricket.

With the dates yet to be finalized, venues in Kandy and Hambantota will likely host the matches of the first-ever tournament. Each side will be allowed a 16-member squad, in which a maximum of six overseas players will be allowed to participate. Furthermore, it is understood that SLC will look to hold the event in June next year, with the LPL set for the August 2023 window.